CNU’s annual Charter Awards announced

If you’re wondering what the best new models for placemaking are each year, it’s wise to keep tabs on the CNU’s (Congress for the New Urbanism) annual announcement of its Charter Award winners.

Out of 160 entries, here are the 17 they chose, and I’ll profile my favorite over the next couple of days. Each year the winners are increasingly urban, which is refreshing over past selections that were largely greenfield (ie ‘well-designed sprawl’)

Block, Street, and Building
The Cap at Union Station, Columbus, Ohio
Historic Front Street, New York, New York
Bayview Rural Village, Bayview, Eastern Shore , Virginia
Mission Meridian Village, South Pasadena, California
The Village at Palmetto Bluff, Bluffton, South Carolina
Arnhem City Center, Arnhem, Netherlands

Neighborhood, District, and Corridor
Columbia Town Center Master Plan, Columbia, Maryland
Crewkerne-Easthams Architectural and Design Code, Crewkerne, Somerset, United Kingdom
Herryford Village, Fort Belvoir, Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Martin Luther King, Jr. Plaza Revitalization, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Mercado Neighborhood, Rio Neuvo, Tucson, Arizona

The Region: Metropolis, City, and Town
Val d’Europe
Marne-la-Vallée, France,
Boston’s Newest Smart Growth Corridor, Boston, Massachusetts
Downtown Plan, Providence, Rhode Island
Vancouver’s ‘Living First’ Strategy, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Caio Verde, Cabinda province, Angola

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *